Charities Logo
Charities Tag Line - Supporting Charities in New Zealand for Stronger Communities

Use this to find information about a particular charity.

Charity Summary

Charity Details

Aotearoa Plastic Pollution Alliance

Registration details

March 31

Address for service

4 Haines Terrace
Aro Valley

Charity's other details

027 637 1787
Facebook icon image

Purpose & Structure

Charitable Purpose

The Charity's vision is to prevent plastic pollution in Aotearoa and Oceania and restore the mauri (life force) of Papatūānuku (Earth Mother) and Tangaroa (God of the Sea) by preventing plastic pollution throughout Aotearoa and Oceania.

Note: The main sectors, activities and beneficiaries are bolded.

Provides advice / information / advocacy

Sponsors / undertakes research, Provides human resources (e.g. staff / volunteers)

Environment / conservation

Education / training / research

General public

Entity Structure

APPA is managed and administered by a committee comprising of three Officers and other elected members together called “the Trustees”. There is a monthly meeting open to all members. The committee of Trustees meets on a quarterly or as-needed basis, and any trustee can call a meeting.

Annual Returns

Annual Returns are due within 6 months of a charity’s balance date (financial year-end), or a longer period if an extension has been granted.

Due Date Date Submitted Total Income Total Expenditure Financial Statements Annual Return Summary
30/09/2022 28/09/2022 $773 $118
30/09/2021 29/09/2021 $1,260 $542
30/09/2020 30/09/2020 $0 $0

Officer Details


Officer Name Position Effective Date
Helena Ruffell Secretary 31/03/2022
Ursula Rojas Nazar Treasurer 31/03/2022
Liam Prince Chair 6/12/2019

Past Officers

Officer Name Position Past Since
Amanda Elizabeth Valois Secretary 31/03/2022
Helen Townsend Treasurer 31/03/2022
Laurent Lebreton Treasurer 12/02/2021
Olga Whyte (Pantos) Co-Chair 12/02/2021
Ella Dorien van Gool Chair 6/12/2019
Trisia Farrelly Co-Chair 6/12/2019
Richelle Kahui-McConnell Co-Chair & Secretary 27/08/2019

Charity Updates

Here is a list of all the details changed by the charity, for example adding or removing officers, amending rules, changing balance dates or updating address details.
Date Created Reference View Summary (.pdf <1MB)
14/08/2022 NOC008
3/03/2021 NOC005
28/02/2020 NOC003
21/01/2020 NOC002
27/08/2019 NOC001

Charity Documents